Skip to main content

Popular posts from this blog

A Window's Instance

When you start an application such as Notepad, you are said to have created an instance of the application. In the same way, when you declare a variable of a class, an instance of the class is created and made available to the project. The WinMain() function also allows you to create an instance of an application, referred to as the hInstance argument of the WinMain() function. The instance is created as an HINSTANCE . The CWinApp class provides a corresponding instance variable called m_hInstance . This variable can let you get a handle to the instance of your application. Alternatively, to get a handle to the instance of your application, you can call the AfxGetInstanceHandle() global function. Its syntax is: HINSTANCE AfxGetInstanceHandle(); Even more, to get a handle to your application, you can call the Win32 API's GetWindowLong() function. Suppose you have opened Notepad to view the source code of an HTML document. This is said that you have an instance of Notepad. Imag...

Creating a File

Although the most popular files used in Microsoft Visual C++ are header and source files, this IDE allows you to create various other types of files that are not natively C++ types. To create a file, if a project is currently opened: On the main menu, click Project -> Add New Item... This would open the New dialog box from where you can select the desired type of file and click Open. By default, the new file would open in the Source Code Editor. If you want to open the file otherwise, after selecting it in the New dialog box, click the arrow of the Open As combo box. In the Solution Explorer or the Class View, right- click the name of the project, position the mouse of Add, and click the option you want

Adding Existing Files to a Project

If a file had already been created and exists on a separate folder, drive, directory or project, you can import it and add it to your application. When you decide to add an existing file to a project, because Microsoft Visual Studio allows you a great level of flexibility on the types of files you can add, it is your responsibility to check that the file is valid. If you copy a file from somewhere and paste it in the folder that contains your project, the file is still not considered as part of the project. You must explicitly add it. Before adding an existing file to your project: On the main menu, you can click File -> Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ On the main menu, you can also click Project -> Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ In the Solution Explorer, you can right-click the name of the project, position your mouse on Add and click Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ Any of these actions would open the Add Existing Item dialog box. This requires you to locate the item and select it. O...