Skip to main content

Creating a Resource

Although an application can use various resources that behave independently of each other, these resources are grouped into a text file that has the .rc extension. You can create this file manually and fill out all necessary parts but it is advantageous to let Microsoft Visual C++ create it for you. To start creating the resources:
  • On the main menu, you can click Project -> Add Resource...
  • In the Solution Explorer, you can right-click the name of the project, position the mouse on Add, and click Resource...
Any of these actions would display the Add Resource dialog box. From this dialog box, you would select the type of resource you want and click New (or Import...). You will then be expected to design or customize the resources. Throughout our lessons, we will see various examples. After creating or designing a resource, you must save it. In most cases, you can try closing the resource. In this case, Microsoft Visual C++ would prompt you to save the resource. If you agree to do this (which you mostly should), Microsoft Visual Studio would create a new file with the extension .rc.
To make your resource recognizable to the other files of the program, you must also create a header file, usually called resource.h. This header file must provide a constant integer that identifies each resource and makes it available to any part that needs it. This also means that most, if not all, of your resources will be represented by an identifier.
Because resources are different entities, they are created one at a time. They can also be imported from existing files.
The Add Resource dialog box provides an extensive list of resources to accommodate almost any need. Still, if you do not see a resource you need and know you can use it, you can add it manually to the .rc file before executing the program.


  1. If the Resource View is not visible, on the main menu, click View -> Other Windows -> Resource View.
    In the Reource View, right-click Exercise1 -> Add -> Resource...
  2. In the Add Resource dialog box, click String Table

    Add Resource
  3. Click New
  4. Under the Type column header, click IDS_STRING101 and edit it to display IDS_ANNOUNCE and press Enter
  5. To save, on the Standard toolbar, click the Save button
  6. Close that window by clicking the Close button Close
  7. In the Resource View, expand the Exercise1 node et notice the Exercise1.rc node

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Adding Existing Files to a Project

If a file had already been created and exists on a separate folder, drive, directory or project, you can import it and add it to your application. When you decide to add an existing file to a project, because Microsoft Visual Studio allows you a great level of flexibility on the types of files you can add, it is your responsibility to check that the file is valid. If you copy a file from somewhere and paste it in the folder that contains your project, the file is still not considered as part of the project. You must explicitly add it. Before adding an existing file to your project: On the main menu, you can click File -> Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ On the main menu, you can also click Project -> Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ In the Solution Explorer, you can right-click the name of the project, position your mouse on Add and click Add Existing Itemテδ「テ「窶堋ャテつヲ Any of these actions would open the Add Existing Item dialog box. This requires you to locate the item and select it. O...

Introduction to Microsoft Visual C++/MFC

Microsoft Visual C++ is a programming environment used to create applications for the Microsoft Windows family of operating systems. To use these lessons, you must have installed either Microsoft Visual Studio 2010. Although Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Professional provides many programming environments for the price of one, in our lessons, we will use it but we will cover only the Microsoft Foundation Class (MFC) library side. After installing it, to use the programming environment, you must first open it. To do that, you would click Start -> (All) Programs -> Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 -> Microsoft Visual Studio 2010. In our lessons, unless used in code, the -> arrow means an action that should follow another. Based on this: Edit -> Copy means click Edit, then click Copy View -> Toolbars -> Custom means click View position the mouse on Toolbars, and then click Custom To start Microsoft Visual C++ or Visual Studio, on the Taskbar, click Start (All) Prog...

Creating a File

Although the most popular files used in Microsoft Visual C++ are header and source files, this IDE allows you to create various other types of files that are not natively C++ types. To create a file, if a project is currently opened: On the main menu, click Project -> Add New Item... This would open the New dialog box from where you can select the desired type of file and click Open. By default, the new file would open in the Source Code Editor. If you want to open the file otherwise, after selecting it in the New dialog box, click the arrow of the Open As combo box. In the Solution Explorer or the Class View, right- click the name of the project, position the mouse of Add, and click the option you want